the blue book

It was 2000, my dear, 9 years ago. When I was in Yogya, studying Broadcast, and just have a rough broke up with my boyfriend, who happened to be my partner in every ‘crime’ too. I was surrounded by nice seniors (seniors in Yogya definitely better and better than seniors in Jakarta) who never stop sharing knowledge and wisdom to me. Even so, inside I still feel lonely and sad.

It was just yesterday, when I found it. See, I’m trying to clean and organize my stuff lately. Since I kept everything that matters to me since I was a baby, I have a lot of stuff, including color feathers I collected and exchange with friends when I was 9 (I don’t know why I did that). Between these stuff, I found a bundle of notes I made since I was 8. Honestly I wasn’t having so much fun reading them (because most were about the searching of love and needs to be listened).

Until I found a blue book that I believe it’s not mine (because mine should be fancy, and this one is a boring look book). I read it. The book filled with poems, which written in a very bad handwriting. But I can read them. Then, I remember him, the man who wrote these poems. After several pages, I saw my own poems, written in a good handwriting (I don’t write that good anymore, how silly). Some of my best friends wrote there too, once. Then I saw his poems again, then mine, then him, and so on. I thought this might happened when we were in high school and we exchange books, like I did with other friends too. We even exchanged diaries. But when I look up the date, it was 2000.

Especially when he wrote a very nice poem, confessing his love for me that has been there since 3 years ago. After that poem, I wrote a song lyric ‘I have a dream’ and there was none others but blank pages. And the book still with me.

What shocked me most is that I don’t remember any of this has happened. I remember we wrote poems, in that book, I remember that he loves me, but I don’t remember how I reacted after that confess poem, at all. I don’t even remember how I managed to keep exchanging that book with him so we can write each other. I was in Yogya and he’s in Jakarta. I’m not sure that I sent the book from Yogya, or received the book in Yogya. Is that mean that the book was in Jakarta? And is that why I lost contact with him until now?

A while before I sleep, as usually, I wrote. It was 7 a and I’m very tired. So I let my mind unconsciously lead my hand to write. That’s what makes me surprise, when I read my notes again just now, when I just woke up.

On that last note, I wrote how I wanted to meet him. How I wanted to see him once again, see if life has treated him good. And if there’s a chance, I wanted to let him know that it was never him that made us lost contact. It was me, who ran away from the feelings I had for him that time. Afraid of what might happens if he found out that I loved him too, all that time. Afraid of the fact that we’re far away from each other. Afraid of losing him.

And if I have enough time, I wanted to hold him because I owe a long apologize. To abandoned his feelings that way. To let him hope when I was step back and put distance, but my feelings grows inside, and I guess he never knew.

And now I know it doesn’t matter anymore. I remember tried to call him at home, when I was move in to Jakarta – 2001, but he never returned my calls. I asked friends, nobody know where he is. He disappeared, out of my life.

A lot of things happened in that 9 years. A lot of lost and found. But this confess poem is my greatest found so far. It’s written sincerely with pure love, that I believed that if I took the chance this love would set me free in many levels, and we’re still together up ‘til now. And when I read it, my dear, oh how I feel warm and so blessed. That once in this life, someone loved me for who I am, even for my fragile and silly heart. For once in my life, I had truly loved, truly loved, by someone like him, a gentleman.

And for that, Vary Trisyandi, I wish you the best in life, as you’ve given me the best in my life. I’ll say a little pray for you, every night, wherever you are, may you always surrounded by love. May you always be that gentleman, who touches people’s life warmly, and of course, may you always have that big heart for your loved ones, for your self.

I’ll keep the book with me, as I know you might continue your life and that book shouldn’t be there to distract you. If we meet someday, we’ll meet. Until then, God bless you, dear.

So my child, I have another digging to go now, hopefully I’ll find something silly to show you someday. I love you, you know that. And yes, I love you more than love your Dad (Sssh, don’t tell him, yaa?).

Miss you.

Saturday, February 28, 2009 at 2:27am

Categories: a letter to my unborn child, people | Tags: , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “the blue book

  1. read the poem about "Candle", its me....

    Dear Ranty,

    I always here for you….. i waited for sooo long… finally you know what i meant….

    I always here for you….

    Still keep the candle light….

    please repply on this site if you remebers me….

  2. Vary

    Apa kabar Ranty? its me… long time no se…
    Iya buku itu masih ama kamu, terakhir liat kamu waktu kamu main ke rumah Reno, and ngasih aku “Mug” waktu aku HUT…
    Im still here……

    • Dear Vary,

      How are you? It’s been so long, yeah. Where in the world are you now? Ha ha 🙂 God it’s really nice to hear from you again. Hope you still keep writing. I don’t believe it, I finally found my Blue Book Gentleman! ^_^

  3. vary

    Dear Ranty,

    Yeah… ive never wrote those kind of poetry again since ive got no idea of what im writing about….

    The world been circling arround me… wandering arround

    Actually i wanna know how are you.. since ive got no clue on where to see and contact you… been wondered, ” how is she doing there… is he okay… “

  4. Well, am here, okay and I’ve been around too. You can always find me on facebook or email me, if you want to. Let’s have coffee sometimes, when works aren’t so busy. Okay? 🙂

  5. vary

    Ranty… i wanna know, does the world is big? i ask you this cause i think you might have met a lot of people and place of where im sure i havent step any foot in there…

  6. Vary

    Dear Ranty…. i wanna say to you be brave, be strong, be lovely as Ranty i knew…

    actually i was going to say good bye to you till we met someday in the future… i wouldnt round again… hope you may find the wonders of live in all of your hussle and bussle… after all, its all the love you need to keep your feet on…

    – V –

    • Ranty

      Dear Vary, ur last question about the size of the world had shock me to the core, so I don’t know how to answer. I hav writings ready, yet never got them posted, I dunno why.

      Please, dn’t say goodbye yet. As soon as I recover from my fever, I’d like to meet you. It’s been long time, and I always wanted to meet you.

      So let me know where can I contact you, okay? Just don’t say goodbye yet. We still have tomorrow 😉

  7. Beautiful written passages,fluent words…Nice ideas that made me stay long time on your blog.Thanks for this opportunity!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

