coaster, coaster, table protector

My child,

Most of your grandma’s tables are made of wood. Sometimes I spent my ‘lazy’ times by reading a book and eating her cookies. Well you know the drink, the fabulous Ice Tea or simply just water with Ice cube. It has to be cold, day or night, trust me.

Among all of family members, she kept her eyes on me more often, warning me to put some coaster under my glass. Well, she has a lot f nice coasters, but she said she will only use them for special occasions, like when the Queen of England come to our house, or the President of US stop using his BB. Gee, I will die before I can use those coasters in my life!

I opened my boxes and found coasters here and there. Apparently, my unconscious mind driven me to buy coasters every now and then. Yeah, you said. You’re just a big shopping mania, mom, you said. Well, allright, I’ll take this one I couldn’t resist them! They’re everywhere. In Bali, airport, Java, wherever I find them. And they’re all unique too, like this one:

javanese handmade coaster

I found this one in a store, handicraft store for gifts. It’s made of algae dried leaves, sewed by hands and it has 2 (two) different colors on each side. They compile them into 3 sets, for USD 5 per-set. It comes in colors too!

I must admit it will took a little maintenance to take care of those Javanese handmade coaster. So, maybe you would like this one, considering a little maintenance they required. This one, I will let you play around and use them nicely. Yeah, you said.

balinese kain ikat and batik coaster

Obviously, they made from Kain Ikat (oh what a gorgeous Kain Ikat!) and Balinese Batik (for the centre of coaster). With a simple patchwork design, it has come to be one uniques coaster. I bought them in a store in Jakarta, pilih-pilih. It was cost USD 6 for one set, contains 4 coaster with a cover. They said the designer is Japanese, but material and tailor from Indonesia. It sure does reminded me of those Japanese wallets they have there for gifts! I always love them.

japanese wallets

Anyway, you might not gonna pass this one.

glassy coke coaster

Cool, isn’t it?… They are easy to clean, cool way to pile them up and put them into inventory, they have little rubber in every corner, so they won’t slip away from the table. I found this at one of the aisles inside Ace Hardware. They cost USD 7 for those four coasters.

The next one is really ‘me’. It’s pop, wrapped with classic material and oh, so cute to even see them.

ceramic coaster

They are found next to ceramic piles, what a treasure I got that day! They slipped a thin cork coaster on the bottom of them, so they won’t slip. It cost USD 7 for a set, contains 4 different painting on each coaster. You must be careful to use them, cos they’re too cute to be broken. Hmm, I bet you won’t let me use them, mom, you said.

I say, put them on home display racks?

You say, in my room? cool!

What a weird kid you are my child. But this one beats all. I got them in Uluwatu Store, in Bali, for free (!), cos I shopped clothes in their stores for more than USD 250 (don’t ask what clothes, see the laces on the coasters, you will understand). Better yet, buy those clothes to get this, or, behold your peace forever.

uluwatu coaster

Na-ah, don’t say anything. I’ll keep this one for Prince William, you know, for when he comes to visit us here someday

What a dreamy mama, you said.

Tickles you until you cry. Love you, dear.

Categories: crafts, places | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

