how I spent my sunday morning lately

It was early September, when I stared at my pile of clothes and wondered how can there be sooo many clothes like this? Also, why I have so many stationeries? So many crafts? And other stuff I remember I bought them out of happiness to see them around. Now that my room doesn’t get bigger, what should I do with them? Buy more cabinets? Hufff… I had too many stuff. Too many.

My brother took me to this sunday market, and showed me the bourgeoise way of workers at the sub-urban could spend, near my home. Sunday morning-since 5 am, all you can ever look for, is there. So get ready for your morning jogs and don’t worry. On your way home, you won’t get thirsty or hungry or unpleased anymore. Because this street, has everything to offer!

kue pancong, my fave snack since I was 5. yummy!...

piracy dvds, mp3 and cds. all and all...

any kind of remote control, here sir...

decorated snails, for pets or collects.

hand painting from local artists..

like they said, artificial flowers is the future!

ballons! πŸ˜€

pink bicycles for cuties πŸ˜‰

blinds, colorful!

I was surprise by the animo to buy stuff, even on your way home from morning jogs. And so I need some more money to go to Bali and doing volunteer work there-as I promised my self-, I begin to think of an idea. If I’m lucky, I get to throw my unused stuff to people who want them. So I packed my 6 big bags of old clothes, borrow my mom’s brown sheet, and ready to whatever I can do on that sunday market.

It was after Eid Fitri, where most of people hasn’t come back to Jakarta yet. So it was not a lot of people, but some are came and go, shopping their way out. Lucky, for each USD 1 per-piece, I sold USD 50 that day, on my first day-when I don’t even have my own spot! πŸ˜€

SP, my friend-since elementary school, and my mom, shocked to know about this. They never thought we can raise that much money on that simple sunday market. All I had was secondhand clothes and bags, no tables or display, all down to the floor, err, I mean, the street. People actually come down and sit on my mom’s brown sheets when they want to buy. Amazing.

Back from Ubud, I took this seriously. Mom backed me up with some support stuff like a spot (so I won’t hunting spot everytime I come there), tent (so it won’t be too hot anymore), a catering table (so I can put some display), clothes hanger (and some more clothes more than USD 1, cos they’re still brand new).

And this is how it look like:

my sunday market tent! πŸ˜€

I first started with only that clothes, bags and the sheet down under clothes piles. So after 10 am, when the sun started to get vertikal? Imagine my headache at the time 😦

Then, after supports from my mom I didn’t get headache anymore πŸ˜› Do you know what kind of stuff I sell there? Here we go…

secondhand clothes from personal uses of my self, SP, mom, and my other friends.

accesories, crafts, perfumes, stationeries

secondhand bags and brand new clothes, gowns, dresses

home made ice cream by mom, fruity and chocolaty. woohoo! πŸ˜€

And this is what happened after 9 am:

people, people, people. all down the road, people.

browsing, girls?...

the cutest little consumer, treated him self with crafty stuff πŸ˜‰

...still browsing...

for women and men, all there is all...

people attacking my craft corner! he he πŸ˜›

We usually packed our stuff at 1030 am, and my stepfather will come to pick the stuff. I will get home and get rest. Later in the evening, me and SP will meet again for a personal little vacation, to Es Teler 77!

 

my ride with SP-the Ninja Lady! πŸ˜›

This is the 'Es Teler 77'! Ice little cubes, avocado, coconut, jackfruit, sweeten condensed milk. OMG, I'm in heaven πŸ˜€

At the middle of October, things started to get complicated. My stepfather’s car wasn’t always available, so I have to take a cab and it cost more than I expected.

So I moved my stuff to SP’s house, just 5 minutes away from the street, and had one man (I had his phone number) who will drive us to the street with his cab every sunday morning. The cost was way cheaper than have them delivered to the street from my home.

For a while, it was okay. People, my friends, started to put their stuff too, I got some commissions from the sales I made. Ha ha. This is like Me in Weird-Wonderland. Totally lost, don’t know anything about this stuff.

And then people just gone. I mean, I hardly made any sale at all at the sunday market. I turned down the price, to almost free (like 3 pcs for USD 1). I put more stuff, so there will be new options to consider to buy. I’m open to any kind of chaos, including when I had to have an argue with other vendor near me. It was bad, but I keep coming and did what I usually did. People started recognized, remembered and looking for my tent.

But that’s it. The last time, the only sale I made was spent for my own breakfast with my nephew (who helped me at the day).

Now it’s been a month since the last time I did it. My mom paid the spot until July 2011. I’m going here and there for job interviews, meet old friends to talk about movie projects, and I’m about to move out of my flat. So things been crowded lately and I don’t know when will I be back there on sunday morning.

I surely will miss meeting SP, we always have so many things to share, to argue, to (even) mock at each other.

 

me and SP, the only friend who has been around. will miss you and those crazy stuff we did, girl! *hugs

At least, that’s my early sunday morning at the market. With a nice friend who always there for me.

Yeah, it’s not bad at all πŸ™‚

How you spent you sunday morning? πŸ˜‰

Categories: food, people, places | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

