the day when my IT guy is drunk

My child,

Yesterday we were trying to send a big file to our client in France, for a test project in my office. It was an important file, actually needed to send it by the day before yesterday, but they’re willing to wait until yesterday, because, as my bosses said, they love our work very much.

In short, it was on the highest level of priority task.

After so many little chaos, last night, we successfully sent the file, and you could say, we’re on time. Good job, isn’t it?…

Just an hour ago my IT crew sparked me, says that the file sent to client last night. One using Singapore line, another using our own line. I said, thank you, I read the notification email from him this morning. He said, not that one (Singapore), the other one (Own). I said, oh, I didn’t get any email about that other one (Own), sorry. Thanks anyway, I said.

He sent me the link and…

I: Thank you. Anyway, since you haven’t write the email notification for the delivery using Own link, would you write one to our Bosses and CC me in the email?

He: You do that. It’s not my job-description.

I: … (am I having a heart attack?)

He: I’m just the guy who uploading the file. I did my job and now it’s your turn.

I: … (no, it’s not a heart attack) Umm, sorry. But aren’t you going to need a written report anyway? That’s how other guys working system with me. They will email, because they will need the email for their own working report anyway.

He: I’m not reporting to you. But you have to report to your bosses, not me.

I: … (I think I’m lost in a jungle now) This test project is directly handed by my bosses, our bosses. I’m not allowed to communicate to client directly. I’m just the internal coordinator. In short, I’m not gonna be the one who will send the email notification to client. Anyway, our bosses asked you to emailed them directly once the delivery finished, so the time would also be accurate.

He:… (is he dead?)

I: But yeah, I can email our bosses for this delivery. No problem. Thank you.

He: I emailed you last night anyway. You should learn to read your email carefully.

I: … (didn’t he said last night email is for the Singapore link delivery?…) Your email last night is for the Singapore delivery, right?

He: Yeah. Read it.

I:… (hell, yeah. he is drunk) Okay. Thank You.

I wrote the email and sent the notification email to my bosses. CCed to him.

A half hour later, one of my bosses asked me, Ranty, what time did the delivery finished? I said, last night. She said, yeah, what time? I said, I don’t know. I’ll check with He (the IT guy). He checked on his computer and told me what time it finished.

Then, my boss said: “Okay. Thank you, Ranty. But for next time, can you makes sure that He will sendus email notification by the time the delivery finished? I and you and even himself, need to know. Just like how we’re working with others. Okay?…”

Okay, I said. (I wish I know how for He, boss. Ideas just fly away from my head to my toe–now is the time to laugh)

You see, my dear baby, I found out later that He was one of those people who’s afraid to be blamed for anything. He’s also one of those people who will do whatever it takes to have someone else to work on his tasks, so he can get home when he’s sleepy and come to work in the afternoon, without everyone noticed.

So I saved my energy to talk to him and make things clear. Instead, I made my self clear. I will need another person to work on this project, for another 24 episodes. Hopefully not a drunk one, he he.

I may have to feel thankful for my teachers, my ex bosses back in Jakarta, for they never let me feel ‘big’, or ‘important enough’. For they always reminds me, that in every job that will come, either it’s from Bollywood or Hollywood, we the production people are just supporting those geniuses in the creative department, even though sometimes to be able to do that, we have to be creative also. Anyway, we will need to work out on things no matter what. And to feel as a bottom, should be seen as a gift. Because it’s the best position to see everything clearly.

So no reason to feel offended. Or acting like a wall, when you noticed people getting hard to communicate with you. Because up or down, order or not, even job desc or not, we would love to think production wise. Not title wise, or our own safe wise.

For the good sake of the project it self, once my crazy boss, Tino Saroengallo said.

Because let’s face it, we are trying to create art here, who would care for your own sake? For the director sake? 70 people, all eyes are on the project, and you whining for an email you have to send?

Got to go for lunch.

Love you, my dear Child.

Categories: a letter to my unborn child, people, work | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

