The Messy Industry, film budgeting

Indonesian filmmakers now no need to worry for jobs this year. They are everywhere. A director committed to make 10 films this year. First time filmmakers, each, has at least 3 upcoming films, to be shoot, all, this year. Documentaris, to be told by a contact from the government, reached more than 15 productions, all around Indonesia. My classmates are everywhere now, agencies, producer, director, writer, they reached their long-passioned positions.

Back on my table, I made 18 initial budgets already, now ongoing for another 4 more. I’m working on this only since february 2012. Those are for commercials, music video clips, film, short films, animation. Don’t ask how many proposals, I stopped meeting people to talk but working it out all online, funny, faster that way.

Wow, many upcoming projects, you may think. From that 18, at least 2 or 3 will be back and finally get executed.

From my table, only 2 of them back to me. I gave one of them to my friend, because the scheduling is not fit with mine, and another one is still on the ‘H’ letter. Hope.

I stopped making commitments as nothing is really worthed anymore. And just catch on the date, which project it will be, for me to working on.

But that’s not the pessimist part. I know some movies succeeded commercially, reach almost a million audience last year, and some makes triple profit out of the revenue. This year, all the investor are trying to get the same luck, the same profit, even more.

One of them, has 2 weeks shooting days, less than a month pre-production, with a budget less than USD 60.000! One of my friend, on another project, came home at 3 am and has the next call on 5 am, that’s everyday for almost 3 weeks, and they still have more shots to shoot next month. One of my classmates has to work as PM, also Loc. Manager, can only have one more assistant–because they dont have budget to hire more. And in the name of ‘we have another upcoming projects, we’ll call you again after this’, he took the job.

2 or 3 of my close friends, chose to stay sane, and prefer to sit and wait, until things makes sense again. They work on another kind of projects, events, crafts, cooks, etc. Anything but this industry, for now.

My Guru once said, if you dont have the money, don’t even think of making a movie. I told my line producer once, never start any production without knowing the money is there.

I mean, if you can make a movie with a budget of USD 60.000, working in less than 2 months, am I going to have a crap-movie-list now?

When it comes to budgeting, means you have the story locked and the general directing concepts ready, why compromise?

But hell, yeah. I may have born in the wrong country, the wrong century. If filmmaking deals now seems like a deal you can get between friends, then I’m definitely not a member of that universe. I’m not enabling low production budget for the rich become more rich only. Nor I enabling for any small corruption forms in filmmaking, even if its my own boss, I’ll be out of their way in a second. Been there, done that.

Maybe that’s why they’re not hiring me again. He he.

Well, 4 more to go.

Have a nice days, everyone! ^_^

Categories: mess, people, thoughts, work | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

